Sam Vidrine wins javelin event at Florida Relays

GAINESVILLE, FL - McNeese State's Sam Vidrine won the javelin event at the Florida Relays here Saturday with teammate Ben Chretien right behind.

            Vidrine uncorked a career best 224-5.3 throw (also the fifth best in school history) to take the title.  Chretien went 224-1.3 for second place.

            This one-two finish was a highlight for McNeese which also had several other individuals posting career best performances during the meet.

            Jarrett LeBlanc and Ryan Barrow both stepped off career top efforts in the 5000 meter run.  LeBlanc finished 16th at 14:57.20 and Barrow was 23rd at 15:16.78

            LeBlanc also anchored the Cowboy ninth place 1600 sprint relay team that ran 3:28.44.  Others on that foursome were Torian Lindsey, Charles Jackson and Michael Washington.

            Wiley Collins, the third member of the Cowboy javelin trio, went 197-2.5 for ninth place in that event while Thomas Canchola threw 53-1.4 in the shot put for 12thplace and Jared Crafton finished 19th at 47-10.0.

            The McNeese 4x100 meter relay team of Jackson, Chris Avery II, Ronald Stine and Ryan Thomason posted a season best 41.51 for 20th place.

            Also for the Cowboys, the 4x400 meter relay team of Donovan Anderson, Washington, Avery and Lindsey ran a season best 3:13.88 for 24th place.

            Leading the Cowgirls was Amanda Lejeune with an eighth place in the javelin.  She tossed the spear 131-10.2 while teammate Laura Kerr finished 10th at 130-7.3.

            Also, the Cowgirl 1600 sprint relay team ran a 4:14.07 for 13th place, that team composed of Ashleigh Wells, Paige Lynch, Racheal Easton and D'Anna Lambert.

            The 4x100 relay team of Lynch, Wells, Kayla Fontenot and Andrea Myers ran a season best 48.39 for 24th place and the distance medley foursome of Tinette Burger, Kara Slaydon, Lambert and Amy Guinn posted a 12:5.11 for ninth place.

            Next up for the Cowboys and the Cowgirls will be the LSU Alumni Gold Relays April 17.